Serlin3
  • Pip
  • Log

• 156 posts
  • LocationFredericton, NB
  • Nationality:Canadian

Posted 03 January 2014 - 08:26 AM

Hi all,

Before I bare my soul and introduce myself, I feel a humourous need to offer a 'Nietzsche-ian' warning about gazing into abysses and them gazing back...lol.  With that out of the way:

-My name is Bob.  I'm 41 and learning everyday. 

-I studied business in school, but surely disappointed (and frightened) my Mom & Dad by joining the Army fifteen years ago.  Leading soldiers can be difficult, but I've long since come to realize I can only do my best and never quit.  The rest isn't up to me.

-I'm married with kids - wives and kids are, by turns: exalting, exhausting, exhilarating and expensive.

-I enjoy sports, technology, science and pretty much any hands-on things. 

-I'll try to repair pretty much anything by myself before spending money on getting it fixed - I think its a chance to learn, hard work keeps a man honest, and failure, although vexing, probably keeps me humble.

-I've been known to dabble in the black arts of computers (hardware and software) and find it quite challenging.  My Dad drives me nuts when he calls for help with his 'furnace' (that warm black computer box under his desk).

-I had a subscription to Sports Illustrated and Readers Digest this past year (seems the word was out on the street that I was a sucker for supporting school kids selling magazine subscriptions for fund-raising) - but couldn't read them fast enough.  There's now a backlog three and half months long in my reading folio (i.e. beside the toilet).  Note to self - reading the hockey season preview issue isn't nearly as enjoyable when the season's already half over.